Need to delete something you’ve posted to Instagram Stories? Here’s what to do.

How to delete photos and videos from Stories

If the Story you want to delete is still live:

  1. Tap on your Stories and, if necessary, click through to the photo or video you want to delete.
  2. Tap the three-dot “More” icon at the bottom right of your screen.
  3. Tap “Delete.”
  4. A dialogue box will pop up asking whether you want to delete the photo or video. Tap “Delete” again to confirm.

If someone happened to be viewing the story while you deleted it, it won’t disappear from their screen right away, but they won’t be able to view it again.

How to delete Stories from the archive

If the Story is no longer live, it will appear in your archive. Stories in your archive are not viewable by other users unless you post them as a Highlight.

If you still want to delete it, here’s how:

  • From your profile, tap the menu on the top right corner.
  • Tap “Archive.”
  • Tap on the Story you want to delete.
  • Tap the three-dot “More” icon at the bottom right of your screen.
  • Tap “Delete,” and then “Delete” again to confirm.

How to delete saved Stories

If you’ve saved a Story as a Highlight on your profile and want to remove it, here’s what to do:

  • View your profile and find the Highlight you want to remove.
  • Tap and hold the Highlight.
  • In the menu that pops up, tap “Delete Highlight.”
  • Tap “Delete” again to confirm.

When you delete a Highlight, it will be removed from your profile, but the Story will remain in the archive. If you want to delete it from the archive, follow the instructions above.