The defining feature of Instagram Stories is that they disappear after 24 hours. But what happens if you love a story so much you want to save it to view later?

You take a screenshot, of course.

But you may not want the user to know that you’ve taken a screenshot of their Story. Will they know about it?

The short answer is no, they won’t.

Here’s the longer answer:

Instagram’s Defunct Screenshot Alert Feature

The concept of disappearing posts was first introduced by Snapchat, and people used that feature to send private messages or post information they didn’t want preserved. So when other users screenshotted their posts, this could violate their privacy.

Because of this, in February 2018, Instagram introduced a feature that would alert a user when a follower had taken a screenshot of their Story. When a user took a screenshot, a little starburst icon would appear next to their username in your Story stats.

What Instagram didn’t anticipate was that IG users didn’t actually mind people screenshotting their Stories. To most users, the advantage of disappearing Stories wasn’t privacy, it was the dynamic nature of the feature: that they could upload fresh content without creating a cluttered, cumbersome feed.

So IG users protested the feature, and in June of 2018, Instagram removed it.

So no one will know if you screenshot an Instagram Story?

As of November 2019, no one will know. Screenshot to your heart’s content!